Scrolls of Lore Forums  

Go Back   Scrolls of Lore Forums > Scrolls of Lore > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:39 PM
Torch Torch is offline

Eternal
Torch's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,278
BattleTag: Torch#2569

Default

Well, it's just been freezing up, somtimes able minimize programs, but nothing more.

It also does really get far too hot for merely world of warcraft- About as hot as when I played Portal 2 on my 4/5 year old laptop. Had problems with it to start off with (had to replace the graphics card, CD drive sounded funny), and then had to do a factory reset after only a couple of months. It's not a clogged fan either, and it's barely 8 months old.
__________________
"Terrorism, a job for lazy people and wankers"

If I die, blame it on BfA
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:40 PM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,011

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torch View Post
Well, it's just been freezing up, somtimes able minimize programs, but nothing more.

It also does really get far too hot for merely world of warcraft- About as hot as when I played Portal 2 on my 4/5 year old laptop. Had problems with it to start off with (had to replace the graphics card, CD drive sounded funny), and then had to do a factory reset after only a couple of months. It's not a clogged fan either, and it's barely 8 months old.
You should take that in to someone.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:49 AM
Bolvar Bolvar is offline

(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
Get Off My Lawn!
Bolvar's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Get off my lawn!
Posts: 19,898

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omacron View Post
Oh I'm in a great apartment, it's just old. It's converted from what I think were the servants quarters of an old Haussmanian townhouse into the studio of a woodworker who's out of town so he's renting it out. Beautiful place, but I'm not sure when it was wired for electricity.
See, this is the fucking problem with Paris.

Because the damned French rolled over in WW2 without a fight, the city was never properly bombed. Every other major city in Europe had to re-build post-war, but not Paris.

Thus, you have shitty pre-war plumbing and wiring all over the place, which is why French people smell, and why Omacron's poor mother can't use her laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:08 PM
CoDimus the Staunch CoDimus the Staunch is offline

Eternal
CoDimus the Staunch's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,572

Default

I am going to buy the nvidia gt 630 2 gb ddr3. I know that it's a pretty average card for these days, but it will work fine for the next 3-4 years. My parents wouldn't allow me to buy a really expensive card, so will have to buy this one.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08-19-2013, 10:18 PM
Omacron Omacron is offline


Omacron's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 34,372
BattleTag: Omacron#1477

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolvar View Post
See, this is the fucking problem with Paris.

Because the damned French rolled over in WW2 without a fight, the city was never properly bombed. Every other major city in Europe had to re-build post-war, but not Paris.

Thus, you have shitty pre-war plumbing and wiring all over the place, which is why French people smell, and why Omacron's poor mother can't use her laptop.
Well, you know the old joke, right? Why did the French plant trees along the Champs-Elysees?


So parkour kids had something to jump on
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 08-23-2013, 03:17 AM
CoDimus the Staunch CoDimus the Staunch is offline

Eternal
CoDimus the Staunch's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,572

Default

Guess what? I got my card upgraded, and the game still has the same freezing problem. Yeah. Not lying. Still complete freeze.

Is there anyone here with some sort of expertise in computers? Mind you, I joined Tom's Hardware forum for getting help today.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 08-23-2013, 08:28 AM
Volkrin Volkrin is offline

The Digger
Volkrin's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Here
Posts: 9,019

Default

This isn't so much a computer problem as a general advice question: any recommendations headset-wise? Something under a hundred dollars, preferably.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 08-23-2013, 09:34 AM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,011

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Call of duty 1 View Post
Guess what? I got my card upgraded, and the game still has the same freezing problem. Yeah. Not lying. Still complete freeze.

Is there anyone here with some sort of expertise in computers? Mind you, I joined Tom's Hardware forum for getting help today.
http://www.swtor.com/community/showp...71&postcount=2

Try that.

May or may not work, but I just resubbed about a day ago and the launcher was freezing my system and refusing to launch the game. Eventually, it blue screened me. When I DO manage to get it launched I get a patch error message.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 08-23-2013, 11:16 PM
CoDimus the Staunch CoDimus the Staunch is offline

Eternal
CoDimus the Staunch's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,572

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferlion View Post
http://www.swtor.com/community/showp...71&postcount=2

Try that.

May or may not work, but I just resubbed about a day ago and the launcher was freezing my system and refusing to launch the game. Eventually, it blue screened me. When I DO manage to get it launched I get a patch error message.
Did it work for you?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 08-24-2013, 03:08 AM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,011

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Call of duty 1 View Post
Did it work for you?
Yes. Restart after install.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 08-24-2013, 03:22 PM
mjbmitch mjbmitch is offline

Arch-Druid
mjbmitch's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 1,318
BattleTag: mjbmitch#1158

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Volkrin View Post
This isn't so much a computer problem as a general advice question: any recommendations headset-wise? Something under a hundred dollars, preferably.
I got a very good headset for about $20-30. It was a Microsoft LifeChat or something along those lines. Apparently it was a match to my keyboard, but I highly recommend it.
__________________
Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was the most disappointing thing since my son. I mean, how much more could you possibly fuck up the entire backstory to Star Wars? And while my son eventually hanged himself in the bathroom of a gas station, the unfortunate reality of the Star Wars prequels is that they'll be around... forever. They will never go away. They can never be undone.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 08-24-2013, 04:51 PM
mjbmitch mjbmitch is offline

Arch-Druid
mjbmitch's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 1,318
BattleTag: mjbmitch#1158

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolvar View Post
Get rid of Norton and AVG, and just run Windows Defender.

No, I'm not kidding.
Don't listen to this idiot. This is my realm.

Windows Defender. Do you even know what it is? First of all, if you even listened to what his problem was, it stemmed from a fake Microsoft malware removal tool. The thing about switching antivirus tools WHEN you have a virus is that the virus could potentially interrupt you from ever putting another antivirus tool on your system. Telling him to "just use the real one" is probably very bad advice considering now the user has to figure out which one is which.

Hopefully you're referring to Windows Security Essentials, as that is a completely separate tool that has the potential to safeguard a system. Dispute this, since most Vista and Windows 7 users have this service running is that it is THE service that viruses want to disable. The thing about having a different antivirus tool is that there is no longer a "standardized keyhole" and it's harder for viruses to dismantle them.

Bolvar and Nazja, please tell me as best as you can why you believe Norton is bad.

Nonetheless, if you need me to help fix your issue I'll gladly do it either over Skype or RDC.
__________________
Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was the most disappointing thing since my son. I mean, how much more could you possibly fuck up the entire backstory to Star Wars? And while my son eventually hanged himself in the bathroom of a gas station, the unfortunate reality of the Star Wars prequels is that they'll be around... forever. They will never go away. They can never be undone.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-24-2013, 05:08 PM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,011

Default

It's Windows Defender on W8. Further, Norton is A) a resource hog, and B) every bit as common as Essentials. More so in a business environment.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-24-2013, 05:16 PM
Garotar Garotar is offline

Site Staff - News
Garotar's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,772
BattleTag: Greyhame#1747

Default

A lot of the problem with ganging virus scanners is that they change every year as to which one is supposed to be the best.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-24-2013, 05:39 PM
mjbmitch mjbmitch is offline

Arch-Druid
mjbmitch's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 1,318
BattleTag: mjbmitch#1158

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferlion View Post
It's Windows Defender on W8. Further, Norton is A) a resource hog, and B) every bit as common as Essentials. More so in a business environment.
I've never had problems with it being a resource hog; however, I've seen countless people claim it is. I can't find a definite answer, but do you mind elaborating? Is it resource intensive while scanning? It shouldn't be scanning too frequently as it has built-in automatic file protection which will prevent the majority of viruses from even being openable before they're purged. Norton on my PC uses <1% CPU.
__________________
Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was the most disappointing thing since my son. I mean, how much more could you possibly fuck up the entire backstory to Star Wars? And while my son eventually hanged himself in the bathroom of a gas station, the unfortunate reality of the Star Wars prequels is that they'll be around... forever. They will never go away. They can never be undone.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-24-2013, 06:13 PM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,011

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjbmitch View Post
I've never had problems with it being a resource hog; however, I've seen countless people claim it is. I can't find a definite answer, but do you mind elaborating? Is it resource intensive while scanning? It shouldn't be scanning too frequently as it has built-in automatic file protection which will prevent the majority of viruses from even being openable before they're purged. Norton on my PC uses <1% CPU.
Norton has so many different processes that it runs at once, and so many different that it's dependent on, that it's just not a very good program. It has a lower detection rate, a high false positive rate, and its just not at all my favorite software.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-24-2013, 06:22 PM
Shamu Shamu is offline

Demon Hunter
Shamu's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 498

Default

There's also a difference between Norton Internet Security and the basic Norton antivirus. Full blown NIS with everything turned on is worse than most low level malware.

On headphones, the pair of headphones I've used the longest were a $30 koss set that fit my head perfectly, most headsets make my ear cartilage sore after an hour. Comfort > audio quality.

Last edited by Shamu; 08-24-2013 at 06:30 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-24-2013, 06:24 PM
Millenia Millenia is offline

Elune
Millenia's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10,824
BattleTag: Millenia#1386

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Volkrin View Post
This isn't so much a computer problem as a general advice question: any recommendations headset-wise? Something under a hundred dollars, preferably.
Senheiser is my recommendation. I don't know how it's spelled, though.
__________________
"All right, I'll get that kid to eat. Where's my screw driver and my plumber's helper? I'll open up his mouth and I'll shove it in."


The Alliance's three rules on faction conflict:
1) You can't win.
2) You can't break even.
3) You can't leave the game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustrum View Post
Because if a storyteller is doing his job, he makes you care. And if that storyteller then says "I dunno, then they stopped fighting, I guess," without any explanation or clarification, his audience has every right to be pissed off. Because they were given reason to stay interested, reason to keep up with his tale, only to be shut down just as things were getting good. A waste of time, a waste of emotional tension, a waste, if you fail to grasp the significance of narrative, of money.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-24-2013, 06:40 PM
mjbmitch mjbmitch is offline

Arch-Druid
mjbmitch's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 1,318
BattleTag: mjbmitch#1158

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamu View Post
Full blown NIS with everything turned on is worse than most low level malware.
Okay, here's where the idiocy starts popping out! No way in the whole fucking world is that ever the fucking case. Come on now. No need for explanation on this one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferlion View Post
Norton has so many different processes that it runs at once, and so many different that it's dependent on, that it's just not a very good program. It has a lower detection rate, a high false positive rate, and its just not at all my favorite software.
Norton never runs more than one process. I think you're referring to different options you can have turned on, like SONAR protection and whatnot, but you would normally turn off the stuff you don't want.

Have you personally had a problem with any sort of malware getting through? I've had to fix people's computers with that problem and as soon as I look into it I find that their virus definitions are out of fucking date. You need to be sure to always have it on automatic update.

The thing about all this "x is better than y" is that they all use the same virus definitions for the most part. Not one antivirus is better than the other. I can say for sure that if you have an antivirus that is more frequently updated, you're safer. The great thing about Norton, like I said, is that it automatically detects if you've downloaded a malicious file. I've had false positives come up but only for malicious tools themselves (hacking tools for games and such).

Technically, the way the definitions are set up, there is no "false positive". They are looking for a signature that a virus has been found to have. If it is found, it suspects that the program can potentially do harm, but any action from there (automatic removal) is done with user intervention, whether that be manually or through options set.

Have you used it since 2009? They really cleaned their shit up and Norton is much better since then. You don't even notice it running and it really saves your ass.
__________________
Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was the most disappointing thing since my son. I mean, how much more could you possibly fuck up the entire backstory to Star Wars? And while my son eventually hanged himself in the bathroom of a gas station, the unfortunate reality of the Star Wars prequels is that they'll be around... forever. They will never go away. They can never be undone.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-24-2013, 07:21 PM
Shamu Shamu is offline

Demon Hunter
Shamu's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 498

Default

Quote:
Okay, here's where the idiocy starts popping out! No way in the whole fucking world is that ever the fucking case. Come on now. No need for explanation on this one.
In terms of system performance? It definitely can be, though of course it depends on the system and it depends on the malware. Admittedly I haven't seen it on the computers I repair since 2011 or so, it seems to have gone out with the last vestiges of XP at my university. People would protect a $300 laptop from walmart with a $60 annual subscription to eat up a quarter of their RAM and still get compromised because you can't patch stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 08-24-2013, 07:34 PM
mjbmitch mjbmitch is offline

Arch-Druid
mjbmitch's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 1,318
BattleTag: mjbmitch#1158

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamu View Post
In terms of system performance? It definitely can be, though of course it depends on the system and it depends on the malware. Admittedly I haven't seen it on the computers I repair since 2011 or so, it seems to have gone out with the last vestiges of XP at my university. People would protect a $300 laptop from walmart with a $60 annual subscription to eat up a quarter of their RAM and still get compromised because you can't patch stupid.
When you mean you can't patch stupid, hopefully you mean they can't patch it because they're stupid... right? Patching is like the bane of the antivirus.

And I feel you on the subscription for budget systems. It's weird to tell a guy he shouldn't purchase a subscription for the hunk he is using. Oh gosh, this reminds me of the time when someone asked me how much performance they would get from upgrading their RAM from some like 2 gigs or something to 16 on this tiny little Toshiba. He said it was for "e-mail and intensive video watching" and went on about how his loading times are too slow, etc.
__________________
Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was the most disappointing thing since my son. I mean, how much more could you possibly fuck up the entire backstory to Star Wars? And while my son eventually hanged himself in the bathroom of a gas station, the unfortunate reality of the Star Wars prequels is that they'll be around... forever. They will never go away. They can never be undone.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-25-2013, 03:51 AM
CoDimus the Staunch CoDimus the Staunch is offline

Eternal
CoDimus the Staunch's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,572

Default

Ferlion's fix didn't work for me. Still the same freezing problem.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-25-2013, 04:05 AM
Commander Rotal Commander Rotal is offline

Sha of Disappointment
Commander Rotal's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13,036

Default

just a hunch but try checking the size of your hard drive and how much is full. we're still talking laptop, right? (a 3DS is a horrible browser ^^)

edit: squeaking of this! I am looking for a decently sized but cheap WiFi tablet to be a bit more mobile within the house. It really doesn't need to do anything but display a decent-to-fast web browser. Suggestions?

Last edited by Commander Rotal; 08-25-2013 at 04:16 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-25-2013, 04:17 AM
CoDimus the Staunch CoDimus the Staunch is offline

Eternal
CoDimus the Staunch's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,572

Default

Nah, it's a desktop. And I have more than 10 gb free space on c drive. I installed it on D drive, which has more than 25 gb left after installing.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-25-2013, 04:19 AM
Commander Rotal Commander Rotal is offline

Sha of Disappointment
Commander Rotal's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13,036

Default

Damn.

Wait, how big are those? Is your PC crammed or are is the hard drive tiny?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computers, did you restart?, google, realspace, tighten up the graphics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.