Scrolls of Lore Forums  

Go Back   Scrolls of Lore Forums > Scrolls of Lore > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 08-15-2013, 03:17 PM
Saranus Saranus is offline

Elune
Saranus's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hogwarts
Posts: 5,681
BattleTag: DrRobert#1475

Default

The globe in Google Earth just kept spinning and spinning and I couldn't fix it. I finally realized that my xbox controller can be used to navigate Google Earth. The trigger buttons rotate the globe clockwise and counterclockwise. It's awesome. And the problem is fixed.
__________________
Now imagine a music, dear readers, heavy with cellos at a rapid staccato. Cellos held between thighs in a dark room. The little room of Harry's chest as he walks with his teammates to the opening gate of his first Test of Cribbage. They are a rag-tag group of champions, this bunch, and with Harry, the near-perfect new god, they know they will dominate the day. Harry is a world laced with rivers of wizardly blood. He is ready.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-15-2013, 03:38 PM
HalfElfDragon HalfElfDragon is offline

The draconic Titleless - Mod
HalfElfDragon's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 15,545
Send a message via AIM to HalfElfDragon Send a message via MSN to HalfElfDragon Send a message via Yahoo to HalfElfDragon

Default

Firefox decided to start being slow as fuck a couple of days ago so I've switched to Chrome. Still confused as to why that happened.
__________________
Quote:
Lucio Benado be wanting to say, Hey, what's up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porimlys View Post
See! Not everyone on the internet is so stubborn they can't have their opinions changed
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-15-2013, 03:40 PM
Noitora Noitora is offline

Elune
Noitora's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 34,691
BattleTag: Chillman#1339

Default

So despite having Norton and AVG, I think I have that fake Microsoft malicious software removal tool. Now I gotta figure out how to get rid of it. Windows Vista.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fojar View Post
Yeah but where would this forum be if not for people speculating endlessly about things Blizzard doesn't give a shit about
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leviathon View Post
SoL: 20 something know it alls telling other 20 something know it alls they know everything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobebyarlant View Post
All this faction bitching and people arguing with each other and it's Fojar of all people that comes in with reasonable positivity.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-15-2013, 05:36 PM
Bolvar Bolvar is offline

(╯�□�)╯︵ ┻━┻
Get Off My Lawn!
Bolvar's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Get off my lawn!
Posts: 19,908

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noitora View Post
So despite having Norton and AVG, I think I have that fake Microsoft malicious software removal tool. Now I gotta figure out how to get rid of it. Windows Vista.
Get rid of Norton and AVG, and just run Windows Defender.

No, I'm not kidding.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-15-2013, 05:37 PM
Nazja Nazja is offline

Trade Baroness - Moderator
Nazja's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: All the lands of Wonder.
Posts: 40,945

Default

Yeah, Norton sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 08-15-2013, 06:12 PM
Lord Eliphas Lord Eliphas is offline

Eternal
Lord Eliphas's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Eye of Terror
Posts: 4,639

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolvar View Post
Get rid of Norton and AVG, and just run Windows Defender.

No, I'm not kidding.
+1 respect
__________________
"Yeah, a sheltered and overly idealistic son of an absolutist monarch, set to inherit the whole nation and continue to rule it as an autocrat.

A beloved archetype of modern era!" - Kir the Gul'dan
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-15-2013, 06:34 PM
Pixy Pixy is offline

Arch-Druid
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,134

Default

Why would anyone use norton? It's beyond atrocious. Recent builds of norton classify the antivirus itself as malware and attempts to delete itself.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:28 PM
Shamu Shamu is offline

Demon Hunter
Shamu's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 498

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HalfElfDragon View Post
Firefox decided to start being slow as fuck a couple of days ago so I've switched to Chrome. Still confused as to why that happened.
Usually this is a plugin or addon of some kind. Does Firefox in safe mode run just as slow?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-16-2013, 02:43 AM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,145

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noitora View Post
So despite having Norton and AVG, I think I have that fake Microsoft malicious software removal tool. Now I gotta figure out how to get rid of it. Windows Vista.
I'm going to tell you to use Microsoft Security Essentials, and run the Windows Defender offline mode. You need to load it up on a disk or a USB key, preferably from an uninfected machine.

Bolvar is right though. Norton and AVG suck.

Windows Defender is purely anti-Spyware. Security Essentials is spyware, rootkits and anti-virus protection..... Unless of course Bolvar is just used to working in Windows 8 where the MSE and Windows Defender are the same program...
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-16-2013, 03:38 AM
HalfElfDragon HalfElfDragon is offline

The draconic Titleless - Mod
HalfElfDragon's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 15,545
Send a message via AIM to HalfElfDragon Send a message via MSN to HalfElfDragon Send a message via Yahoo to HalfElfDragon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamu View Post
Usually this is a plugin or addon of some kind. Does Firefox in safe mode run just as slow?
I tried that and it still felt slow, though its possible that Chrome just runs faster and that I got used to that.
__________________
Quote:
Lucio Benado be wanting to say, Hey, what's up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porimlys View Post
See! Not everyone on the internet is so stubborn they can't have their opinions changed
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-16-2013, 09:16 AM
Bolvar Bolvar is offline

(╯�□�)╯︵ ┻━┻
Get Off My Lawn!
Bolvar's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Get off my lawn!
Posts: 19,908

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferlion View Post
I'm going to tell you to use Microsoft Security Essentials, and run the Windows Defender offline mode. You need to load it up on a disk or a USB key, preferably from an uninfected machine.

Bolvar is right though. Norton and AVG suck.

Windows Defender is purely anti-Spyware. Security Essentials is spyware, rootkits and anti-virus protection..... Unless of course Bolvar is just used to working in Windows 8 where the MSE and Windows Defender are the same program...
Yeah, you're right - I've been on Win8 for over a year now.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-17-2013, 01:43 AM
CoDimus the Staunch CoDimus the Staunch is offline

Eternal
CoDimus the Staunch's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,592

Default

I have realised that my PC really is outdated. I still use XP, you know?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-18-2013, 03:34 AM
Omacron Omacron is offline


Omacron's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 34,378
BattleTag: Omacron#1477

Default

So this is a really strange problem affecting my mother's and my own laptops. As I've said before, we're in France, and our laptops are plugged in via adapters. That's pretty much the only commonality: I'm using a computer running Windows 7, she's using a macbook pro on mountain lion. But we both have problems with our laptop touchpads that both really only started flaring up today. They're just... erratic. Mine is clicking places I don't intend to and hers is acting kind of "sticky". Unplugging our computers and having them run on battery power seems to fix the problem, so I'm guessing this has something to do with the European plugs or the current they use in europe, maybe? Has anyone ever heard of this, and can give us some advice on the matter?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-18-2013, 03:38 AM
Nazja Nazja is offline

Trade Baroness - Moderator
Nazja's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: All the lands of Wonder.
Posts: 40,945

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omacron View Post
So this is a really strange problem affecting my mother's and my own laptops. As I've said before, we're in France, and our laptops are plugged in via adapters. That's pretty much the only commonality: I'm using a computer running Windows 7, she's using a macbook pro on mountain lion. But we both have problems with our laptop touchpads that both really only started flaring up today. They're just... erratic. Mine is clicking places I don't intend to and hers is acting kind of "sticky". Unplugging our computers and having them run on battery power seems to fix the problem, so I'm guessing this has something to do with the European plugs or the current they use in europe, maybe? Has anyone ever heard of this, and can give us some advice on the matter?
Nah, can't say I've heard of this happening. My sister had a US notebook so she also had to use an adapter, but this never happened. Hasn't happened with our European notebooks either.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-18-2013, 03:53 AM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,145

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nazja View Post
Nah, can't say I've heard of this happening. My sister had a US notebook so she also had to use an adapter, but this never happened. Hasn't happened with our European notebooks either.
I've heard it happening on unclean power lines.

Easy test. Plug in a USB mouse and see if you still have the problem when using the mouse. Trackpads are notorious for acting up with dirty power.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 08-18-2013, 03:56 AM
Omacron Omacron is offline


Omacron's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 34,378
BattleTag: Omacron#1477

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferlion View Post
I've heard it happening on unclean power lines.

Easy test. Plug in a USB mouse and see if you still have the problem when using the mouse. Trackpads are notorious for acting up with dirty power.
Didn't bring any USB mice with me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-18-2013, 04:02 AM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,145

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omacron View Post
Didn't bring any USB mice with me.
Then without further testing, I'm going to go with dirty power. It's a known issue track pads have, it's happening under specific circumstances on multiple units.

The only other real test I can suggest is plugging the laptop in somewhere else and see if you get the same problem. It could be that your adapters are not working properly, but I think it's a bit of a specific problem to have both go bad in that specific way at the same time.

Uhhm.. I don't know about newer models because I just don't work on laptops like I used to, but heavy magnetic interference would mess with a track pad as well.

Last edited by Ruinshin; 08-18-2013 at 04:05 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-18-2013, 04:15 AM
Omacron Omacron is offline


Omacron's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 34,378
BattleTag: Omacron#1477

Default

It's not a /huge/ deal, as long as it's not a permanent problem. If it's somehow related to the apartment we're renting's electricity, we go back to America on Tuesday.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-18-2013, 04:38 AM
Shamu Shamu is offline

Demon Hunter
Shamu's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 498

Default

Trackpads are dark magic under the best of circumstances. In some Eastern Hemisphere shithole god only knows what could happen.

More factually: I was in Rouen a few years ago with an Amurican Dell 6520 and a Macbook Pro, and I didn't notice much in the way of irregularities. My lodgings were pretty swell, but nothing over the top. All will be well in a week.

Or not.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-18-2013, 04:55 AM
Omacron Omacron is offline


Omacron's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 34,378
BattleTag: Omacron#1477

Default

Oh I'm in a great apartment, it's just old. It's converted from what I think were the servants quarters of an old Haussmanian townhouse into the studio of a woodworker who's out of town so he's renting it out. Beautiful place, but I'm not sure when it was wired for electricity.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-18-2013, 05:42 AM
Torch Torch is offline

Eternal
Torch's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,279
BattleTag: Torch#2569

Default

Speaking of touchpad problems, I have mine turned off on my windows 8 laptop... but for some reason, everytime the computer is either restarted, or turned off manually (it's been crashing quite a bit recently, and it definitely feels a lot slower than it used to, despite pretty much having McAfee (don't quite trust it tbh) WoW+addons and a late 90's game installed and nothing else), the touchpad re-enables itself. Even though when I go to turn it off again, the computer still says "touchpad off".
__________________
"Terrorism, a job for lazy people and wankers"

If I die, blame it on BfA
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:51 PM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,145

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torch View Post
Speaking of touchpad problems, I have mine turned off on my windows 8 laptop... but for some reason, everytime the computer is either restarted, or turned off manually (it's been crashing quite a bit recently, and it definitely feels a lot slower than it used to, despite pretty much having McAfee (don't quite trust it tbh) WoW+addons and a late 90's game installed and nothing else), the touchpad re-enables itself. Even though when I go to turn it off again, the computer still says "touchpad off".
Turn it off in bios or FNC+F3 may work to disable.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:55 PM
Commander Rotal Commander Rotal is offline

Sha of Disappointment
Commander Rotal's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13,095

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torch View Post
Speaking of touchpad problems, I have mine turned off on my windows 8 laptop... but for some reason, everytime the computer is either restarted, or turned off manually (it's been crashing quite a bit recently, and it definitely feels a lot slower than it used to, despite pretty much having McAfee (don't quite trust it tbh) WoW+addons and a late 90's game installed and nothing else), the touchpad re-enables itself. Even though when I go to turn it off again, the computer still says "touchpad off".
I'd let someone check that out. I know several people who use Laptops and everytime they start getting slower, not a year later those fuckers just die. Usually from internal heat-problems.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:57 PM
SmokeBlader SmokeBlader is offline

Elune
SmokeBlader's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 30,980

Default

McAfee wrecked my computer. Made the computer run lower than a slug, and kept having errors at the shut down. Never again.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-18-2013, 01:03 PM
Ruinshin Ruinshin is offline

Elune
Ruinshin's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 21,145

Default

Wait.. How is it crashing? Just cold shut off. Black screen, BSOD, locking up, Windows Explorer crashing?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computers, did you restart?, google, realspace, tighten up the graphics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.